Kia K5 Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey All,

New K5 GT-LINE AWD Premium lessee...

I just wanted to share some pricing info and some general KIA info and experience. Folks, this is the ABSOLUTE WORST time to finance/purchase a vehicle. Quick back note, I have been leasing KIA's for almost 10 years now. I was driving KIA's when people thought they were shit cars. Prior to KIA, I was leasing Toyota's. In equivalent value to price ratio, a KIA was far better priced. I have leased Optima's and Sorento's. Great vehicles and never had any issues with them.

KIA has been grabbing marketshare and while it will be a while before they surpass the likes of Toyota in volume, they have already have surpassed Toyota in reliability ratings. They have rebranded themselves into a "luxury" line and by all accounts, they really do deserve it. KIA's residuals used to sit somewhere around 50% and now they are over 60%. The residual on the K5 is 66%. Higher residual is great, but now they've upped the prices because of it.

My car shopping deal is typically, find the best rebates and incentives, know the invoice and negotiate off of that. I don't "fall in love" with vehicles because that's the bait and the bite. Also, I usually get base trim or 1 above because I'm just looking to have a nice but reliable vehicle with a fair price. This past car buying experience was absolutely horrid and by no choice.